catching up!

I am super behind in show and tell!! I have made several things over the past few months. I managed to photograph three of them today. The rest will probably have to remain unblogged–a couple of them I just don’t love and another is too basic to be very interesting, ha!

I opened allll the little mini blinds in my house to get a bit of natural light in here. Having no fences and sharing a backyard with many other homes makes setting up the tripod outside just a little awkward. I know I shouldn’t care. And sometimes I don’t, but ya know…

Anyway, first up, I made this dress in recent weeks and absolutely love it.

Β This is Butterick 5784. It has a cute tie/knot detail on the left shoulder, that you can sorta see in these pics. I am very proud of this one because conquering a style like this is a major accomplishment for me! In sheath dresses, I have always had too much fabric in the back, which I now know is because I require a swayback adjustment in eeeverything! I added a center back seam to this and made the right adjustments and it worked. It’s so comfortable and pretty, I can see it being a go-to dress for Army functions when we move to Hawaii. The fabric is from JoAnn’s when they had all the simply silkies on sale for %70 off! I fell in love with the color.

Next up, a dress I love equally as much!

Β this is McCall’s 6890, one of the brand new line. I’ve had this pretty piece of lace around for a long time. It used to be a much bigger piece, but I have made TWO failed things out of it!! It was a bummer because non-scratchy lace like this is hard to find! This dress is really simple to make and I think the fit is perfect for me. My hem in the front looks a little wonky, but I’m gonna say it’s the high-lo trend and call it good πŸ˜‰ Since it’s still winter, last week I wore this out with a jean jacket, black leggings and boots and a pretty purple scarf Casey gave me for Christmas. It look great belted too! Definitely a pattern I’ll be making again.

Third, I whipped up this top a couple months ago, but just recently I liked it enough to actually wear and I’ve worn in a few times since.

I only had about a yard of this rayon fabric, which dictated my pattern choice. I used Simplicity 1693 because View C doesn’t require much fabric. I really love this print so much! Next time, I’ll add a bit of length so as not to require and undershirt. The neckline and arm holes are perfect, though.

That’s all for now! I’ve been trying to get out of a dull color rut that I seem to be in. It’s winter. I get the blahs every January until Spring and I think wearing lighter colors that look pretty on me instead of my go-to gray t-shirt goes a long way in boosting my mood. Once I realized how much I gravitate toward gray and how much it does not look great on me, I started forbidding myself to buy it πŸ™‚

C’mon Summer!!

11 thoughts on “catching up!

  1. All three are so pretty! What a fantastic trio of makes, Nikki!

    Also, McCall's 6890 is one of those patterns that I overlooked, because of their horrid styling. Your version is so modern and chic, but the photographed McCall's version looked so matronly to me that I didn't even check out the line drawing. Who knew it had such adorable options? I'll definitely be picking it up now, thanks to you!

    Like

  2. Gorgeous items.

    I cannot believe that is M6890. I didn't even bother looking at that more than a hot second because I mean…seriously?

    I love that top too. The fabric is gorgeous.

    Like

  3. Those dresses are superb!!!! I like the top too, but those dresses!!!! You look wonderful, and you are so blessed to be going to Hawaii!! I hope you take a lot of pictures, and post them on your blog when you move. One day…my husband and I will get out there to vacation!

    Like

  4. Beautiful outfits! πŸ™‚ Nothing like cheery colours and prints to chase away the winter *blah's*!:) Hawaii…that's amazing!!! I don't think you'll be having the winter blues there πŸ˜‰ haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

