Be strong and Courageous

First things first, thank you all for entering my essential oil pouch giveaway! I have notified the winner 🙂 I look forward to making more of those, I really wished I’d had one for each of you!

Casey is in Asia this week. He’ll be back Saturday and it hasn’t been so bad, other than that I miss him and wish I could gab with him about all the details of our daily life that matter to the two of us, but probably not to anyone else. The kids being older now, these separations are physically easier than they used to be, though, so we’re holding down the fort okay.

DSC_0032

I love listening to the Homeschooling IRL podcast and one of their favorite topics is what they’ve termed “hope shifting”. It’s easy for us to put our hope in plenty of things other than Christ, isn’t it? Our life as a military family is not what the world would call stable, but we tend to say, “as long as we have each other …” But, isn’t that hope shifting too? Instead, I ought to repeat to myself, “I have Christ”. He’s the same, yesterday, today and forever, praise the Lord! My location, my friends, my climate (ha, I could live with this weather forever!), my home, my financial situation, my calling for this season, my family as the kids grow, will all change and shift, but what a relief it is to know that my hope isn’t in any of these things — not my family, not my financial stability, not my marriage, not my friendships, not in how well I’m doing as wife, mom, homeschooler or church member — it’s in the One who never changes!

“We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain, where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf…” (Hebrews 6:19-20a)

I’ve been repeating Joshua 1:9 to myself lately quite a bit and also praying through this verse for others. I think I need this print!

il_570xn-762294592_5780

(Photo from the Sunshine Studio Art Etsy shop.)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

